Advocacy Committee

Advocacy Committeee

Advocacy Committee

Current Members (Summer 2023)

Chair: Kamil Kanji (

  • Aki Kamoshida (Councillor)
  • Salva Sherif (Councillor)
  • Anna Shubina (Councillor)
  • Koda Tootoosis (Councillor)
  • Cindy Wang (Councillor)
  • Mayank Gupta (Student at Large)

Terms of Reference

The Advocacy Committee shall be composed of:

  • the Vice-President Academic and University Affairs;
  • the Vice-President External Affairs;
  • five (5) non-Executive Council members; and
  • two (2) Students at Large.

The Advocacy Committee shall:

  • advise the Vice-President Academic and University Affairs and the Vice-President External Affairs on advocacy to the University, the various levels of government, and other external organizations on behalf of the Society’s Active Members;
  • provide advice on the Academic Experience Survey;
  • propose annual goals for itself to the Agenda Committee and be responsible for completing those goals; and
  • have such other duties as are outlined in the Bylaws or the Code or assigned by Council from time to time.

Meeting Times

The next Advocacy Committee meeting will be held on July 10, 2023 from 6:00-7:00 PM in NEST 3529 and on Zoom.


Meeting Agendas



Meeting Minutes




2023 Minutes (Full Year)

2022 Minutes (Full Year)

2021 Minutes (Full Year)

2020 Minutes (Full Year)

2019 Minutes (Full Year)

2018 Minutes (Full Year)

2017 Minutes (Full Year)

2016 Minutes (Full Year)